Welcome Safety 4 Life Parents!
The Most Common Questions Asked by Florida Parents with a New Driver
Can you drive alone at 15 in Florida?
No, you can only hold a learner’s permit which does not allow you to drive alone.
What is the curfew for a 16-year-old driver in Florida?
11:00 p.m.-6:00 a.m. Drivers License 16 years old- you cannot drive between the hours of 11:00 p.m.-6:00 a.m. unless driving to or from work or accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ years old.
Drivers License 17 years old- curfew from 1:00 a.m. – 5:00 a.m. unless driving to or from work or school or accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ years old.
Can a minor drive another minor in Florida?
While Florida law does not mandate passenger restrictions for teens, it is advised that a new teen driver does not carry more than one passenger under age 18 who is not an immediate family member, unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
Be the example your children need. If you refrain from speeding, using a cell phone, buckle up, and respect others on the road, your teenager will follow your example.
- Practice with your new driver.
- Limit nighttime driving
- Talk to your teens about the dangers that they face on the road.
- Texting, impaired driving, drowsy driving are all things that can be avoided if they see a Safety 4 Life presentation that explains to your teen about the legal and economic consequences of disobeying the law.
We chose the 4 elements that we are concentrating on, road safety, internet safety, human trafficking and safe law enforcement interactions because truthful information and education can save lives.